Final Project: Seeing Things?

This final project was WILD. I started off with not knowing at all what direction I was going and ended up with images that I am very happy with.
I cried three times and spent hours looking at mirrors, reflections, and paper until my vision went blurry. The concept of New Formalism still confuses me, New Formalism is, I think, about the different process that one can explore to create a photograph, but a photograph that is more than just pointing and clicking the shutter. “They are playful, raucous, disrespectful to norms, and openly celebrate of the surface beauty of the art objects they create.” Doing photography in this style has been interesting and has pushed mt creativity out of its own comfort zone and capacity. Honestly I’m not really sure if this New Formalism but I’m okay with that. I have a new respect for this style that forces one to push their limits and their idea of a photograph and photographic process.

Leave a comment